How to Waste Time When You’re Feeling Stressed and Overworked

As you’ve probably guessed from the title, I’m feeling a bit stressed and overworked. I have a seven page essay due at the end of the week and I’ve got a bad case of writer’s block. I’m also juggling the rest of my homework around rehearsal every night. I’ve had to do that a lot, but it still stresses me out. My cure? Time-wasting. Sure, it doesn’t get the job done, but it helps me relax. I now present my top time-wasting ideas to reduce stress:

Replay the same song over and over again
I do this a lot. I’ll get a song stuck in my head and no amount of replaying it will make it go away. On the bright side, music helps me think.

Start an art project
I’m quite fond of doing this. Recently I’ve been making and altering items for my costume chest. A costume chest is a very useful thing for an actress to have, and it keeps me entertained.

Write really bad poetry
I excel at this. I’ve only written a few decent poems, and though poetic phrases often flit through my brain, I have trouble stringing these phrases together. Still, writing poetry, even really bad poetry, can be rather freeing.

Doodle while listening to an audiobook
Doodling is a great stress reliever. I do it all the time during math class. When I’m at home I like to doodle while listening to an audiobook or some music.

Watch a movie
You could watch a really bad movie and laugh at all the one-dimensional characters. Or you could watch a really good movie and cry when your favorite character is killed off. The same goes for TV shows.

Take a bath
Warm water and bubbles can be very relaxing.

Read blogs
This one should be self-explanatory.

Write a post for your blog
Hmmmm… perhaps I’ll try that.

Well, I hope you can look back on these if you’re stressed and find something useful. I now must go and write the essay I’m stressing over. I don’t know how to end this, so may the force be with you. Be free from stress.

3 thoughts on “How to Waste Time When You’re Feeling Stressed and Overworked

Leave a Reply

