Freshman Year Highlights

I was going to post my review, but it really is awful, so I think I’ll post that once I’ve edited it. However, the school year is winding down (a week and a half left!), so I thought I’d post a reflection on my first year of high school.

I’ve heard many people talk about how horrible Freshman year was for them. I’m on the complete opposite of the spectrum–I thoroughly enjoyed this year. It was definitely one of the best school years I’ve ever had. This was partially due to my classmates. I go to a performing arts school, and I have my two arts classes every day with the same group of people. At first, I expected there to be a lot of drama, my school being an arts school and all. I have had no real drama in any of my classes, and for that I am grateful. Aside from that, my class is just a wonderful group of people. We’re like a family. We’ve grown close over the course of this year.

Often times artists are not treated kindly growing up. Many of the adult actors I know say they were social outcasts when they were younger. It’s not that bad for me, and I was never severely bullied like many of my friends, but I never really felt like I fit in at my old school. I loved the place, but I was also lonely. At my new school, many of us can bond over not fitting in anywhere else. We fit in with each other, and that’s what’s important. For the first time, I’m friends with everyone in my class, or at the very least, on friendly terms with everyone. It’s a lovely feeling. I trust them, and they trust me.

Another thing I love about my school is the location. I won’t say where it is, but it’s a campus in a very beautiful area of a city. We have open lunch, and recently it’s been warm enough to eat outside. Some students play the guitar or the ukulele, so there’s nearly always someone playing music outside during lunch. It makes everything even more pleasant. Lazing on the grassy knoll. chatting and laughing with friends under the cloudless blue sky, taking silly pictures, a strumming of notes in the background–what more could one ask of life?

My classes themselves are fascinating. That’s not to say I enjoy every lesson, I get bored in school like any other normal student, I just like my classes and teachers overall. My favorite academic classes are probably English and French. English has always been a favorite subject of mine because I love to read and write, and I have really good teacher this year. The teacher of my French class is what makes the subject so interesting. She’s a great teacher, she gives us plenty of speaking practice and has games for us to play to practice vocabulary. We’ve also gotten to do fun things like make masks and watch a movie in French.

I’ve had many interesting arts classes as well. My favorite classes first semester were dance and artistry. We spent about half the class period warming up in dance, but I loved being inside the studio and thinking, how many schools have their own set of dance studios? Then I’d ride the escalator to the first floor and think, how many schools have an escalator? Artistry was fun because most of what we did was writing/performing our own skits in groups. I’ve always loved this sort of thing, and some of my classmates have brilliant ideas.

This semester my favorite arts classes were probably singing and acting. I love to sing, and I didn’t get to first semester. We had to sing Italian art songs because of juries, presentations of a song, monologue, and dance in front of your class and a panel of judges in a professional setting to show what you’ve learned, but it was still fun just to get to sing in class. Sometimes afterwards we’d walk down the street to our next class singing. To practice for juries, we had to sing solos in front of the class, which was terrifying at first, but ended up being kind of fun. I really liked acting because our big project this semester was scenes. The scene I was assigned was amazing, and it was really fun to work on. My character was a very different character than I’m used to playing, so it was an enjoyable challenge to play her.

Now that I’ve bored you with information about school, I’m off to make a Mothers’ Day card for my mom. I’ll try not to neglect my blog, though I’m quite stuck on what to post. Any ideas? It’ll be easier to post more this summer, because I won’t have homework. I suppose I will have vacations…ah, well. Happy almost not quite yet summer!

Leave a Reply

