On Living to the Fullest Potential

Tink: “How ’bout you go and do something with your own life so that we’d be remotely interested in snooping in your business!!
Codex: “If I could do that it would be on the agenda, believe me!”

-The Guild, season 5

I have a confession to make. I can be rather lazy at times. Rather than go out and have my own adventures, I much prefer to read about them in books, and I seldom leave the house on weekends or during the summer when given the option to. Instead read and procrastinate (I’m very good at that) and go online to read about all the amazing things everyone else is doing while I sit at home in my pajamas and wish I was out doing wonderful things too. My parents have started (jokingly) asking me how many times I’ve left my room on a given day.

The truth is, I often dream of going off on adventures (or journeys to friends’ houses), but when the time actually comes I can’t be bothered to leave my room. And then I read more, and wish my days were busy with a million ordinary tasks.

Perhaps this is just me being melancholy because my ninth grade year has been much less busy than my eighth grade. By the spring of 2012 I had a lot on my plate. I had choir rehearsals as well as confirmation classes each once a week, was performing in two shows, one of which I was the lead in, and doing my schoolwork and trying to choose a high school in addition. I had no time to sit around the house and busy myself with procrastination. And I was happy.

So then, my problem is not that I dislike “living a little”, so the phrase goes, but rather have trouble getting my butt off the ground in order to do so. I enjoy being busy. I’m happier when I have a lot on my plate. I just lack the motivation to take the initiative to, as Tink puts it in the quote at the beginning of this post, to “go and do something with my life”.

While my procrastination habits may soar during the summertime, this is also a good time of year to get started on doing meaningful or interesting things with my life. When I was in Puerto Rico I did just that, but now that I’m home and have little to fill the empty hours with, it’s time for me to stop lazing around. I need to take the initiative to do something with my life, otherwise I’ll end up becoming bored and malcontent. When I’m busy, I may be malcontent sometimes, but I never have the time to be bored.

Anyway, what I’m getting at is that I am going to post a bucket list of all the things I want to do over the summer and during the upcoming school year. I’ll probably add to that list as the months go by, and I’ll post here if I’ve reached one of my goals. Hopefully I’ll reach all of them. I’ll expect you, readers, to be strict and hold me to my list, okay? Here it is:
1. Learn to play the guitar competently, if not perfectly.
2. Find the perfect audition song
3. Convince parents to let me take voice lessons and dance class
4. Be in at least two shows (not including J-Term) during my tenth grade year.
5. Get entirely caught up on Doctor Who, and maybe start a few other TV shows my friends are interested in. (Well, the second part is optional. I don’t need even more things to get me to procrastinate, after all.)
6. Win NaNoWriMo in November (maybe try a higher wordcount goal?) and if Camp NaNoWriMo is attempted, won that as well.
7. Finish and win current Camp NaNoWriMo
8. Take more writing classes
9. Learn something new every day
10. Try something new such as fencing or Tai Chi
11. Learn Useful Life Skills so that I won’t be a complete imbecile when I go off to college in a few years.
12. Exercise more
13. Maintain this blog.

I probably will end up adding to that. For now, though, I think I’ll leave it be. I’m behind on my wordcount goal, and I need to write.

Leave a Reply

